How Do I Get a Tallahassee Car Accident Report?

Posted by : Milles Law on July 30, 2021

After a car accident in Tallahassee, as an injured accident victim, you might feel confused and overwhelmed. What do you do next? Where can you turn? What steps do you need to take to get compensation? One of the steps you should take after a car accident is to obtain a copy of your Tallahassee accident report.

This is a critical step when seeking compensation because it often outlines liability and provides details of the accident that may help your case. In Florida, traffic crash reports can take up to 10 days to become available, so keep that in mind before you try to obtain a copy.

When Do You Have to Report a Crash in Florida?

For accidents involving injury, officers often arrive at the scene of the accident. If officers respond to your accident, then they will fill out an official accident report. However, if the police do not come to your accident scene, you may need to report the crash on your own.

Section 316.065 of the Florida Statutes requires anyone involved in a Florida car accident to report a crash if any of the following situations occurred:

Where to Get Your Tallahassee Accident Report

You can purchase a copy of your Tallahassee accident report in several ways:

  • Online. You can visit the new Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) online portal to purchase a copy of your crash report. It costs $10 per report. There is also an additional $2 fee for each transaction through the Florida Crash Portal. You can then download these copies immediately. You must download all copies within 48 hours.
  • By Mail. If you want to receive a copy of your crash report by mail within the initial 60-day period, you must complete a Sworn Statement. This is because traffic crash reports are exempt from public disclosure for the first 60 days. Only parties involved in the crash can obtain these copies.
  • In-Person. If you wish to obtain copies in person, you can follow the directions for mail-in requests. However, instead of mailing in your requests, simply take the request letter, sworn statement and payment to the FHP Troop Station nearest to your crash. Payments must be included, and they accept check or money orders. It can take up to four to six weeks to receive copies of your crash report in person or by mail.

Contact a Car Accident Attorney in Tallahassee for a Free Consultation

If you or someone you love suffered an injury in a car accident in Tallahassee, you need an experienced car accident lawyer on your side. Attorney Eric Milles can work quickly and efficiently to help you during this time. To learn more, contact Milles Law today at (855) 553-3310 or fill out our confidential contact form for a free consultation. Your Injury. Your Rights. Your Lawyer.

Categories : Auto Accident, Car Accidents